Give Yourself a Break…

Today while I was at the doctor’s office, I read an interview article in a magazine on the counter as I was waiting to be called back. There wasn’t anything really special about the article, just an interview with a celebrity talking about how she balances her work life and personal life.

But she said something that hit close to home… “As a younger person, I thought I had to do everything myself. But then why do we have friendships and family? You can’t do it all by yourself and it’s silly to try.” The celebrity was Julianna Margulies. I’m not a huge fan, I’ve seen her in a few shows that I’ve sort of halfway watched, but that quote reminded me of something I struggle with every single day.

This is probably the hardest thing I struggle with personally. I don’t like asking for help. I have multiple health conditions that demand I take it easy and take frequent breaks, but even when I’m taking a break, I’m still working on something. I’m answering emails, or working on my book or advocating Facebook pages or petitioning or networking or researching for business forecasts and working on building a business plan or looking up costs for things that I won’t need the cost for for another 2-3 years, or sending out emails petitioning for support for various issues.

I don’t actually slow down, I ask for help on small tasks that are more of “I have bigger things to worry about right now can you handle this for me because I need my 2 minutes elsewhere” than “I need help, my body doesn’t like everything I’m doing.” I don’t take time to think, “You’re not the healthiest person in the world, stop, take a breath, and delegate some things…” Mostly because I wasn’t raised to ask for help.

I think that’s a lot of the problem for a lot of people. Especially in my generation or older (though some of the behaviors of younger generations in which they expect the world to be handed to them on a silver platter with a bow did start with my generation, sadly). We were raised to do what we had to do and keep pushing forward no matter what. But it’s not necessary. Like Julianna Margulies pointed out, we have friendships and family for a reason. We should be leaning on each other and helping each other and offering support to one another in times of need. Delegate something bigger than that 2 minute inconvenience task when someone offers to help.

You don’t have to do it all alone. You can give yourself a break. God didn’t put other people in our lives for us to stick our tongues out and try to stress ourselves, mind or body, to our breaking point.

“You only live once, but if you do it right, once is enough.”

 

Leave a Reply

